BAXTER COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR BOARD MEETING JULY 20, 2022 6:00 P.M.

PRESENT: Board President, Jon Northrup, Cory Robinson, Debbie Meyer, Colette Kunkel, Superintendent Mickolyn Clapper, and Board Secretary, Julie McWhirter. Kim Tichy was absent due to a prior commitment.

OTHERS PRESENT: Sue Atkinson, Laurie Gowdy, Betty Peterson, Craig Peterson, Richard Phelps, Sherri Phelps, Carrie Ratliff, Christie Wiebbecke, and a few other community members.

- I. Call to Order: Board President, Northrup called the regular July board meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.
- **II. Approval of Agenda:** Meyer moved, seconded by Kunkel, to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried (4y-0n).
- **III. Approval of Consent Items:** Kunkel moved, seconded by Robinson, to approve the payment of bills totaling \$442,666.28 and minutes of the June 15, 2022 regular board meeting, as presented. Motion carried (4y-0n).
- **IV.** Correspondence: None
- **V. Public Forum:** Sue Atkinson elaborated on an email earlier sent to board members. Christie Wiebbecke asked why May and June 2022 board meeting videos have not been posted on the website.

VI. Business Items:

- **A.** <u>Jasper County Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan 2022-2027 Resolution:</u> Meyer moved, seconded by Kunkel, to approve the Jasper County Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan of 2022 Resolution, as presented. Motion carried (4y-0n).
- **B.** Membership on the Board: Kunkel moved, seconded by Meyer, to approve the continuation of a five-member board which currently consists of the following members: President Jon Northrup, Colette Kunkel, Debbie Meyer, Cory Robinson, and Kim Tichy. Motion carried (4y-0n).
- **C.** Annual Review Board Policies: 700's-1000's: The board members will start to review the policies in this series for possible revisions and will further review the 700's-1000's series prior to the August meeting as part of the annual policy review.
- **D.** <u>28E Agreement with GMG for Special Ed Director:</u> Meyer moved, seconded by Kunkel, to approve the 2022-23 28E Agreement with GMG CSD for Special Education Director, as recommended. Motion carried (4y-0n).
- **E. Open Enrollment:** Meyer moved, seconded by Robinson, to deny the open enrollment in application from Jennifer Lemley, on behalf of her children, Oliver and Corbin, from the Colfax-Mingo CSD due to *Insufficient Classroom Space* and *Appropriate Special Education Program Not Available*, as recommended. Motion carried (4y-0n).

Meyer moved, seconded by Kunkel, to approve an open enrollment in application from Angela Winkel on behalf of her daughter, Alaina Stouffer to continue to attend Baxter after a recent move to the Newton district, as recommended. Motion carried (4y-0n).

	conded by Meyer, to approve resignations from Zach Hasselbrink and Postel as bus driver; and from Richard Van Beek as Custodian, ied (4y-0n).
Administration and board men district and wished him well in	nbers thanked Rich Van Beek for his many years of service to the his retirement.
Robinson moved, seconded by Motion carried (4y-0n).	Meyer, to approve Denny Beal as custodian, as recommended.
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	sportation: Meyer moved, seconded by Kunkel, to approve the phone system from Rankin Communications, as recommended.
H. Superintendent's Report : Dr. Clapper was excited to share that the district applied for and received a \$50,000 computer science grant. She updated board members on the plans for back to school professional development for staff. Dr. Clapper also updated them on the field house community committee's plans to move forward in raising funds for the field house. Administration will hold a retreat in August to set goals for the upcoming school year. Dr. Clapper is wrapping up evaluations and updating the job descriptions.	
Adjournment: Meyer moved, second at 6:52p.m. Motion carried (4y-0n).	led by Robinson, to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned
The regular July board meeting minute meeting.	es will be presented for approval at the regular August board
Board President	Date

Date

VII.

Board Secretary