BAXTER COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT 2024-25 PROPOSED BUDGET PUBLIC HEARING APRIL 17, 2024 6:00 P.M.

PRESENT: Board President Cory Robinson, Jon Northrup, Tyler Akins, Ashley Kucera, Ray Hauser, Secondary Principal, Rob Luther, Elementary Principal, Zach Hasselbrink, Superintendent Mickolyn Clapper, and Board Secretary Julie McWhirter.

OTHERS PRESENT: New Superintendent, Chris Petersen

Call to Order: President Robinson called the 2024-25 Proposed Budget Public Hearing to order at 6:00 p.m.

2023-24 Budget Hearing: Board members reviewed the proposed budget for the 2024-25 fiscal year.

Adjournment: Kucera moved, seconded by Hauser, to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 6:02 p.m. Motion carried (5y-0n).

BAXTER COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT REGULAR BOARD MEETING

- I. Call to Order: Board President, Robinson called the regular April board meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.
- **II. Approval of Agenda:** Northrup moved, seconded by Akins approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried (5y-0n).
- **III. Approval of Consent Items:** Northrup moved, seconded by Hauser, to approve the payment of bills totaling \$134,539.70 and minutes of the March 27, 2024 regular board meeting, as presented. Motion carried (5y-0n).
- **IV.** Correspondence: None
- V. Public Forum: None
- VI. Business Items:
 - **A. Principals' Reports:** Each month, principals, Rob Luther and Zach Hasselbrink, share activities during the past month.
 - **B.** Safety and Security Update: The Jasper County Sherriff will apply for a three-year grant to fund an SRO (School Resource Officer) for this district. The Jasper County Sheriff's office will provide the personnel at no cost to the district for the term of the grant.
 - C. 2024-25 Proposed District Budget: Akins moved, seconded by Northrup, to approve the 2024-25 District Budget, as requested. The budget includes no tax rate increase of 18.69/\$1000 in assessed value, as recommended. Motion carried (5y-0n).

Roll Call: Yeas: Northrup, Akins, Kucera, Hauser, Robinson

Nays: None

D. District Developed Service Delivery Special Ed Plan: Kucera moved, seconded by Hauser, to approve the revision of the District Developed Service Delivery Plan-Special Ed 5 year plan as recommended. Motion carried (5y-0n).

- **E. Participation in IASB Safety Group Insurance Program**: Northrup moved, seconded by Kucera, to approve the continued participation in the Safety Group Insurance Program, if the district continues its relationship with EMC Insurance, for the 2024-25 fiscal year. Motion carried (5y-0n).
- **F. Iowa School Finance Information Services:** Northrup moved, seconded by Hauser, to approve the continuation of its membership with ISFIS, as recommended. Motion carried (5y-0n).
- G. Approve Seniors for Graduation: Hauser moved, seconded by Akins, to approve the following seniors for graduation pending successful fulfillment of all graduation requirements: Jayden Matthew Bakalar, Callyn Thomas Bishop, Evelyn Paige Boothroyd, William Jackson Brown, Beau Micheal Brummel, Brashton Bradley Butler, Trenton John Colyn, Payge Dawn Cripps, Julie Ann Damman, Zachary Don Damman, Chagolla Ahlyvia Lee Epps-Chagolla, Hailee Josephine Fredregill, Hope Shra Ann Good, Madison Rose Greimann, Morgan Lynn Hansen, Jocelyn Jacie Harder, Reyna Jon Heer, Jacob Dean Hiemstra, Jack Thomas Irwin, Samantha Jo Irwin, Logan David Jones, Ashton Michael Kerwin, Peyton Brian Kittell, Alexis Ann Leon, Jocelyn Michelle Lind, Aiden Lee McFadden, Tucker Leigh Alexander Peacher, Cameron Nathaniel Petermeier, Lydia Ann Pierce, Morgan Kate Ratliff, Benjamin Michael Richardson, Kieran Lynn Roby, Regan Grace Russell, Cody Lee Samson, Leah Elizabeth Shanks, Toccara Shondaya Marie Stone, Treyton Michael Travis, Heiden Payton J Vander Heiden, Keenan Michael Varner, Michael Matthew Wilhelm, Brianna Marie Winfield, and Holly Jean Zahurones, as recommended. Motion carried (5y-0n).
- **H. Open Enrollment:** None.
- I. Facilities, Grounds, and Transportation: None.
- *J.* **Superintendent's Report:** Dr. Clapper shared her thoughts on the recently held annual Joint City/School Work Session. The 2024-25 District Calendar will be brought to next month's board meeting for approval.
- **K.** Exempt Session (as allowed by Iowa Code Chapter 21.9, Employment Conditions Discussed: To discuss strategy in matters relating to employment conditions of employees not covered by the collective bargaining law): Northrup moved, seconded by Akins, to enter into Exempt Session at 7:23pm as allowed by Iowa Code Chapter 21.9, Employment Conditions Discussed: To discuss strategy in matters relating to employment conditions of employees not covered by the collective bargaining law, as requested. Motion carried (5y-0n).

Roll Call: Yeas: Northrup, Akins, Kucera, Hauser, Robinson Nays: None

Hauser moved, seconded by Northrup, to exit Exempt Session at 8:22pm, as requested. Motion carried (5y-0n).

L. Personnel: Akins moved, seconded by Kucera, to approve resignations from Cassidy Brummel as secondary English teacher; Scott Brummel as secondary social studies teacher; Julie McGrew as FCS teacher; Holly Foarde as special education teacher; and Jennifer Wisniowski as secondary science teacher, as requested. Motion carried (5y-0n).

Hauser moved, seconded by Northrup to approve MOU's for Danyelle Myers as MS English/Reading/Writing teacher and for MOU for Kevin Cook as HS English teacher. Contracts for Amanda Repp as secondary FCS teacher; Nolan Krueger as MS social studies teacher; Robyn

Winner as MS English/Reading/Writing teacher; Nick Noring as secondary business teacher; Kirsten Jurgersen as MS math teacher; and Amy Jones as special education teacher, as recommended. Motion carried (5y-0n).

Kucera moved, seconded by Northrup, to approve amending the 2024-25 contract for new superintendent, Chris Petersen, to increase the number of contract days and salary. It is understood that the district will share the superintendent with another school district for ½ of the contracted days; and if a sharing agreement with another district is not acceptable, the salary amount will be adjusted accordingly, as recommended. Motion carried (5y-0n).

VII.	Adjournment: Akins moved, seconded by Hauser adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 8:23 p.m. Motion carried (5y-0n).		
	The regular April meeting minutes will be presented for approval at the regular May board meeting.		
	Board President	Date	
	Board Secretary	Date	